SCHOOL DISTRICT OF WEST DE PERE REGULAR BOARD MEETING HEMLOCK CREEK ELEMENTARY SCHOOL **November 15, 2023**

5:30 PM

Board members present: Fuss, Borley, Van Den Heuvel, Dorn, Van Deurzen

Board members excused: None

The meeting was called to order at 5:30 PM by Board President Fuss followed by the Pledge of Allegiance. President Fuss stated that the area news media had been notified of the meeting as required by open meeting law and state statutes.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to accept the agenda. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

The Board recognized the following groups and individuals;

Lisa Boyd who was selected by the Wisconsin School Counselor Association as the 2024 Wisconsin School Counselor of the Year.

High School Boys Soccer Team who are Regional Champs and brought home the Division 2 silver ball at the State Soccer Tournament.

- Head Coach Brian Kamler
 - o Ben Woller
 - o Joshua Oliveira
 - o Grayson Birder
 - o Kasey Kamler
 - o Carter Borley
 - o Kaveh Garania
 - o Collin Rottier
 - o Jack Wilichowski
 - o Holt Wojciechowski
 - o Cooper Nimmer
 - o Jon Romatowski
 - o Tyler Kowalczyk
 - o Richer Perez

Jeanine Zeamer & Abby Klicka-Bellin Trainers were recognized for their continuing hard work in assisting all of our athletes throughout the year.

HS Cross Country Qualified and competed at State.

- Head Coach Stacey Bloomer
- Asst. Coach Melissa Carlson
 - Kate Schmoll
 - Carson Samson
 - Addison Cornwall

Hemlock Creek Students Principal Held introduced 8 students from the PTO read-a-thon that read the most minutes or raised the most money in their grade. Officer Sarah Manning and Arlo (therapy dog) also were there to greet everyone.

The Board thanked everyone for making West De Pere proud.

The meeting was opened to the floor to enable district residents to bring items of general concern to the attention of the Board. No concerns were presented.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley that the October 18, 2023 annual and regular meeting minutes be approved as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel that the Treasurer's Report be approved. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley that previously paid bills to Vos Electric, VDH Electric, and Best Built be approved. Motion carried. Voting Yes: 4 Voting No: 0 Ryan Van Den Heuvel abstained. Motion carried.

It was moved by Jason Dorn and seconded by Scott Borley that previously paid bills be approved excluding bills from Vos Electric, VDH Electric, and Best Built. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Old Business

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Scott Borley to adopt the following policies as previously presented:

- 1111 School Sponsored Media (reviewed-no changes)
- 2030 Administrative Residency (delete policy)
- 3100 Business (reviewed-no changes)

- 4219 Maintenance Staff
- 4219.1 Facilities Maintenance Staff
 Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

New Business

Committee Chair, Scott Borley gave a verbal update regarding the Finance Committee Meeting.

Committee Chair, Barbara Van Deurzen reviewed the November 9, 2023 Curriculum and Policy Committee report.

Amy LaPierre, Director of Curriculum, presented to the Board an update on the status of Act 20 and how it will affect the district. The Board thanked her for the information and requested further updates as they become available.

Amy Schuh, Director of Student Services, delivered to the Board the annual special education report. Discussion ensued. The Board thanked her for the information.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Barbara Van Deurzen to approve the 2024 summer school dates as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to approve the 2023-2024 Community/School Resource Officer Agreement with Lawrence Police Department as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to move staffing items into closed session. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

The Board was presented with various reports and communications: such as updates, various thank you's, invitations, and calendar items. Discussion Followed.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley at 6:43 PM that the Board adjourn into closed session as previously stated. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

The Board reconvened at 7:58 PM.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to approve the staffing items as presented. Voting Yes: 4 Voting No: 0 Motion carried. Scott Borley abstained.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Scott Borley to approve the retirement of Dennis Krueger, Superintendent, in July of 2024 as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Scott Borley at 7:59 PM that the meeting be adjourned. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Barbara Van Deurzen Clerk